top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShannon Thomas

Jumping my car like the Dukes of Hazzard

Updated: Dec 8, 2021

So to begin I thought I'd say that this journey has been exhilarating,

Five and Six at Castle Rock

exhausting, scary, fun, happy, sad, and sometimes dangerous. I've made mistakes and I've had ups and downs and in the end, we all made it out okay and didn't damage the car at all. My life lately is just like this picture, and just like the events immediately preceding this shot. These are my two youngest kids (Five and Six... their birth order, not their names) who are laughing at me because I had just accidentally jumped our SUV on a dirt road in the middle of nowhere and the boys are like: "whoa, can't believe you just did that... can we do it again?"

These past 10 months of my life were like this car jump: unexpected, very eventful and not at all what I wanted to do. I just wanted to see my journey through to the end and accomplish my goals. I saw no warning signs, experienced a 90 degree change of life, and now I'm accepting the new road we're on. Our car has one fewer passenger now, and that is okay. I didn't expect certain things to happen but they did, and we roll with it. My goal now is to be the very best mom I can and to raise moral children who are strong and resilient and loving. My goal is a happy life for all of us!


13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One Day at a Time

Today has been a good day. My whole week last week was good. You gotta remember these days and journal so you have that on the rainy days of your life. Through this whole divorce, I’ve used a few stra

Water Under the Bridge

So much has happened I’ve lost track almost... but that’s because I’m not writing it all down anymore. This is lots different from the start of our family separation through the divorce itself. Back t

Life is what you make of it

So this past several months have been busy for us. We have had some downs- including kidney stones, a surgery, illness following that surgery, a tornado (or possibly an angry husband and his tractor?)

bottom of page