top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureShannon Thomas

Water Under the Bridge

So much has happened I’ve lost track almost... but that’s because I’m not writing it all down anymore. This is lots different from the start of our family separation through the divorce itself. Back then I had a daily events journal/spreadsheet that grew to 600 pages, printed, and mostly one liners. I kept each scrap of paper from notes in counseling sessions and all the receipts and every single text printed out neatly (4 to a page, in color) so that if the attorney needed “proof” we could pretty much recreate it for a judge, for Dad, for kids or anyone who might want to know what REALLY happened since Dad lives in fantasy land and isn’t able to think, live in, or deal with reality. 7/21/21 was my D-day. Looking back on how scary hard all that built up to it was for me makes me proud of what I did and proud of HOW I did it. So many friends who helped me through and heard every crazy detail kept saying they were surprised I wasn’t having a harder time, but those friends mostly don’t understand faith like mine and an ability to be led by God. I know that there wasn’t anything I could have tried that I didn’t already try. I have no regrets. That saying “I can’t fix stupid” just really applies here. Dad carried on with his Cushing Walmart pharmacy manager girlfriend for weeks after the divorce. Unfortunately, once dad signed the farm over to me, like magic, her reason for their shotgun wedding plans was somehow mysteriously gone (we are both in our mid-40’s so possibly it happened naturally, possibly it never was a reality, or possibly she as a pharmacist knows as well as I know, as a pharmacist, that one single missing non-controlled and inexpensive cytotec pill from the shelf behind her would never be missed and it would do the trick immediately) and she was ready to move on to her next victim. Sadly, leaving Dad “heartbroken” as he described himself to Four in July. our 14yo’s response was comical, she goes “I asked if he was heartbroken about the divorce or about losing R——haha” (the homewrecking hoe from Whoremart) and he didn’t answer. But, she continues, “I thought it was funny he seemed so upset about a girl he just met and how he’s not upset about his 21 year marriage ending because of [said girlfriend].“

Life is exactly what we make of it. I have chosen to make my life happy. It is all good. We have been so blessed. I have so much blogging to catch up on!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One Day at a Time

Today has been a good day. My whole week last week was good. You gotta remember these days and journal so you have that on the rainy days of your life. Through this whole divorce, I’ve used a few stra

Life is what you make of it

So this past several months have been busy for us. We have had some downs- including kidney stones, a surgery, illness following that surgery, a tornado (or possibly an angry husband and his tractor?)

One week to go and Don't have a clue

It's 3am, I can't sleep because I've been trying to pass a kidney stone and feel awful. So looking at the moneywatch advice column I decide to write this poor fellow Quentin F. what will likely be one

bottom of page